About Cameroon

Cameroon, in West Africa, is a mixture of desert plains in the north, mountains in the central regions, and tropical rain forests in the south. Along its western border with Nigeria are mountains, which include the volcanic Cameroon Mountain—the highest point in West Africa. Some 250 ethnic groups speaking about 270 languages and dialects make it a remarkably diverse country.

The Republic of Cameroon is a union of two former United Nations Trust Territories—French Cameroon, which became independent in 1960, and southern British Cameroon, which joined it after a 1961 UN-sponsored referendum. English and French are both official languages.

Quick Facts
Capital of Cameroon Yaoundé
Largest city Douala
Unemployment rate 30%
Poverty 40% of population below national poverty line
Life expectancy at birth 46 years
Infant mortality 87 (per 1,000 live births)
Child malnutrition 18% of children under 5
Top 5 Causes of Death (all ages) HIV/AIDS, Lower Respiratory infections, Malaria, Diarrheal diseases, Perinatal diseases